ADVANCED PLACEMENT (AP) EXAMS WILL BE OFFERED ONLINE IN LIGHT OF SCHOOL CLOSURES

By Huntington Learning Center

With the recent school closures, the College Board announced they are developing a new at-home testing option for the AP exams this spring. During this time, the College Board surveyed 18,000 AP students to see if they still wanted the opportunity to test this year and the overwhelming answer was yes! It is clear these exams are important to students who have been working very hard in their classes. Students will be able to take the open-note exams on any device and will be given the opportunity to earn college credit for their courses. Although the College Board recommends you do take the AP course to take the exam, it is not mandatory. This is a great opportunity for students to take these exams online and earn college credits.

Trevor Packer, senior vice president of AP and Instruction for the College Board said:

                 “We want to give every student the chance to earn the college credit they’ve worked toward throughout the year. That is why we quickly set up a process that’s simple, secure, and accessible.”

An Advanced Placement course is one of the most difficult courses a student can take during high school. Earning a qualifying score on the AP exams will expand student’s options, eliminate a required college course or students can begin taking upper-level college courses.

If your student is taking an AP course and preparing to take one of the online exams, Huntington can help you prepare with our online tutoring programs. Our individualized face-to-face tutoring will allow your student to get the best possible score and increase their college admissions chances.

Below are the primary exam dates from the College Board website:

AP Exams 2020 by Local Start TimesBelow are the primary exam dates. Makeup exam dates can be found below the Course Specific Exam Information.

Exam Start Times: Local times may vary depending on a student's geographic location.

Hawaii Time: 6:00 a.m.
Alaska Time: 8:00 a.m.
Pacific Time: 9:00 a.m.
Mountain Time: 10:00 a.m.
Central Time: 11:00 a.m.
Eastern Time: 12:00 p.m.
Greenwich Mean Time: 4:00 p.m.

Hawaii Time: 8:00 a.m.
Alaska Time: 10:00 a.m.
Pacific Time: 11:00 a.m.
Mountain Time: 12:00 p.m.
Central Time: 1:00 p.m.
Eastern Time: 2:00 p.m.
Greenwich Mean Time: 6:00 p.m.

Hawaii Time: 10:00 a.m.
Alaska Time: 12:00 p.m.
Pacific Time: 1:00 p.m.
Mountain Time: 2:00 p.m.
Central Time: 3:00 p.m.
Eastern Time: 4:00 p.m.
Greenwich Mean Time: 8:00 p.m.

Mon, May 11

Physics C: Mechanics

Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism

United States Government and Politics

Tues, May 12

Latin

Calculus AB

 

Calculus BC

Human Geography

Wed, May 13

Physics 2: Algebra-Based

English Literature and Composition

European History

Thurs, May 14

Spanish Literature and Culture

Chemistry

Physics 1: Algebra-Based

Fri, May 15

Art History

United States History

Computer Science A

Mon, May 18

Chinese Language and Culture

Biology

Environmental Science

Tues, May 19

Music Theory

Psychology

Japanese Language and Culture

 

Italian Language and Culture

Wed, May 20

German Language and Culture

English Language and Composition

Microeconomics

Thurs, May 21

French Language and Culture

World History: Modern

Macroeconomics

Fri, May 22

Comparative Government and Politics

Statistics

Spanish Language and Culture

 

Article Topics

Stay in touch and sign up for our newsletter